top of page
Maryland Wear and Carry Class
Wear and Carry Permit Training
7/5/22 UPDATE: SUSPENSION OF “GOOD AND SUBSTANTIAL REASON” STANDARD FOR MD WEAR & CARRY PERMITS
With the passage of the 2013 Firearms Safety Act, effective October 1, 2013, the training requirements for all Maryland Wear and Carry permit holders has changed. Please ensure that before you submit an original, renewal, or subsequent application that you first successfully complete the required training.
What is Wear and Carry Permit Training?
Approved Wear and Carry Permit training courses are offered at Mountain Maryland Firearms Training by a Maryland State Police approved Qualified Handgun Instructor who has an account through the Maryland State Police MyLicense/E-Gov site.
Wear and Carry Permit training is 16 hours of instruction for an original application and 8 hours of instruction for a renewal application.
The approved training is offered by Mountain Maryland Firearms Training Qualified Training Instructor and will include instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.
Attendance of the class does not guarantee issuance of a permit, but the class is one of the requirements to apply for the permit.
bottom of page